Cannot get a Rancher cluster setup

Hello,

I’m new to Docker/Rancher/Kubernetes in general. I’m setting up a POC for an internal team and they want to try and use Rancher. I’m setting up a Rancher cluster right now but keep running into issues and don’t know what to do. Here’s what I have:

6 VM’s (CentOS 7.6) all with DHCP reservations.
Docker 17.03.2
Nginx load balancer on one of the nodes
All VM’s are in the same host cluster and in the same subnet

I have installed Docker on all 6 nodes and on the 4th node I installed the Nginx load balancer. I have been going thru the directions scattered all over the Rancher website, and am now stuck on the rke part. For whatever reason if I used wget to copy over rke it didn’t copy over the whole file, so I had to manually download it and use SCP to copy it to each machine (Is that needed or on just one machine only?). I’m using rke v0.1.15. I’ve modified the file and given it the proper permissions. When I run the rke config command I’ve tried specifying 6 nodes and also 3 nodes. When I did 6 nodes I didn’t specify anything for node 1 or node 4 since I thought if I did that node 1 would become the master somehow and node 4 was the load balancer node, so I didn’t think anything should be installed on there, but I’m not sure as I can’t find any documentation that’s clear on that. That failed as I didn’t specify anything on node 1. So I tried just creating on the first 3 nodes and did different combos of which one was etcd, worker and control plane, but no matter what I do it always fails. I basically get something like this:

[root@Cent7Dock1 bin]# rke up --config cluster.yml --ssh-agent-auth
INFO[0000] Building Kubernetes cluster
INFO[0000] [dialer] Setup tunnel for host [10.0.0.2]