Deploying a docker-compose stack to Rancher 2.0 on AWS

Hi all,

I’m just beginning to experiment with Rancher as a way to manage containers on a cluster of virtual machines on Amazon AWS, but being new to Amazon AWS, Kubernetes and Rancher; I’m finding it a little difficult to join all the dots.

I will say this; actual deployment of Rancher, and the underlying Kubernetes infrastructure, so far, has been very slick. Kudos to the development team for pulling that off… deploying the master node really couldn’t be much simpler and getting the underlying stack going is not much effort.

I’m not sure what “best practice” is in regards to exactly how and where to deploy what; I guess a lot is “it depends”. My thinking is that the “worker” nodes will be behind a gateway of sorts, and only a few select nodes will have public IP addresses.

Our current infrastructure, which we hope to replace, runs on Vultr; which, we’re quickly outgrowing as a VPS host, hence we’re looking to shift to AWS. Presently, we just install Docker and docker-compose on an Ubuntu virtual host; and use docker-compose.yml scripts to deploy our stack from private images stored on Docker Hub.

For this experiment; I have one master node running Rancher server, which sits on a public subnet with an external IP address pointing at it (both IPv4 and IPv6; although the latter doesn’t seem to want to work… that’s an AWS issue I’ll deal with later), and 5 slave nodes which reside on a separate private network.

We’re running Rancher v2.0.0-alpha16, downloaded this morning.

Three of these nodes run etcd and the management daemons, all operate as workers. There’s a route between the two networks, and the back-end private network has access to the public Internet via a NAT gateway.