Failing to Communicate with Kubernetes API server after Load Testing Cluster

I’m new to Rancher and Kubernetes. I ran a load test on a service running on my server and it caused rancher and my deployments running on the cluster to stop responding. After a period of time my deployments are accessible again and running find. I can also login into Rancher, but rancher cannot connect to kubernetes API server.

Error in Rancher:

This cluster is currently Unavailable; areas that interact directly with it will not be available until the API is ready.

Failed to communicate with API server: Get https://206.81.13.161:6443/api/v1/componentstatuses: net/http: request canceled (Client.Timeout exceeded while awaiting headers)

Running Cluster on DigitalOcean. Nodes Deployed using DigitalOcean Node Driver.

Any suggestions on how to get my kubernetes api server functioning again? It been a few hours since it has been down so I don’t think it’s spinning it back up.

Thanks!

This starts with how your cluster was setup (What droplet sizes did you use for Rancher and for the cluster nodes, how many cluster nodes did you use and what role did every node have?)

If the performance testing was done running pods without any resource limits, probably nodes have been going down and you can only survive that if you have the correct amount of nodes and roles.

Thank for your response!

The “cluster” is composed of a single 4GB (2 vCPUs) droplet. I do not have any resource limits on my pods.

It is a development setup but I’m trying to learn from it. For the sake of learning, is their a way to salvage the cluster and bring it back?

In a production setup, I’m planning on having:

• 1 - 4GB (2 vCPUs) droplet - etcd & Control Plane.
  • 2 - 4GB (2 vCPUs) droplet - etcd & Control Plane & Worker.
  • 2 - 4GB (2 vCPUs) droplet - Worker.

Is this a proper setup? Should I have resource limits on my containers as well? Even though certain containers have peak load times.