Microservice-Architechture - Best Practices?

Hey there,

I’m fairly new to rancher and I plan on building a mid-sized microservice-architecture with it (~10-15 services, not including dbs, lbs, redis, monitoring).

Now I’m looking for best practices in terms of setup in rancher - i.e. I know how I can make it work (in fact I have it up and running already), but I’d love your input in either: how you do or how it is supposed to be done.

Currently, I have the following setup: Each of our services (say: User Service) has it’s own Stack in Rancher. Each Stack consists of at least the Service and one Load Balancer, also if needed the Database, Redis etc.
Then there is a single Stack for the Environment (Sandbox, Staging, Production) which contains a single Load Balancer that exposes every public service via Port 80. Then there is an Amazon ELB that would do SSL Termination, but that is out of scope right now.

My questions are:

• Do you have any improvements to this setup? It seems rather clunky to me, but it was the only way for me to easily account for automated deployments per Service
  • Seeing that the HAProxy can happily load balance between several containers on it’s own, do I actually need a separate LB per Service? My guess is that right now I would not loose anything, as the “central” HAProxy would do round-robin per Service-Container and there would be no need for the extra step - am I missing anything?
  • Is anyone using the catalog feature for Continous Deployment? I was thinking of creating a catalog that consists of every service we built so that we can actually do “updates” in the UI instead of using the API, but I’m not quite sure if the overheard (building and maintaining the catalog) is worth it - any thoughts on that?