no acceptable C compiler found in $PATH

Hi,

I’m new to suse and I have the following problem as written in the title. I’m posting some outputs below for describing the error and I’m trying to install a unixodbc driver.

hana:/myodbcdrivers/unixODBC-2.3.2 # ./configure checking for a BSD-compatible install... /usr/bin/install -c checking whether build environment is sane... yes checking for a thread-safe mkdir -p... /bin/mkdir -p checking for gawk... gawk checking whether make sets $(MAKE)... yes checking for gawk... (cached) gawk checking for bison... no checking for byacc... no checking for style of include used by make... GNU checking for gcc... no checking for cc... no checking for cl.exe... no configure: error: in `/myodbcdrivers/unixODBC-2.3.2': configure: error: no acceptable C compiler found in $PATH See `config.log' for more details

hana:/myodbcdrivers/unixODBC-2.3.2 # echo $PATH /sbin:/usr/sbin:/usr/local/sbin:/root/bin:/usr/local/bin:/usr/bin:/bin:/usr/bin/X11:/usr/X11R6/bin:/usr/games:/usr/lib/mit/bin:/usr/lib/mit/sbin

[CODE]hana:/myodbcdrivers/unixODBC-2.3.2 # zypper lr -d

| Alias | Name | Enabled | Refresh | Priority | Type | URI | Service

–±--------------------------------------±--------------------------------------±--------±--------±---------±------±--------------------------------------------------------±-------
1 | OSS | OSS | Yes | Yes | 99 | NONE | http://download.opensuse.org/distribution/11.4/repo/oss |
2 | SLES-for-SAP-Applications 11.3.3-1.17 | SLES-for-SAP-Applications 11.3.3-1.17 | No | No | 99 | yast2 | cd:///?devices=/dev/sr0 |[/CODE]

hana:/myodbcdrivers/unixODBC-2.3.2 # uname -a Linux hana 3.0.76-0.11-default #1 SMP Fri Jun 14 08:21:43 UTC 2013 (ccab990) x86_64 x86_64 x86_64 GNU/Linux

[CODE]hana:/myodbcdrivers/unixODBC-2.3.2 # zypper install gcc
Retrieving repository ‘OSS’ metadata [\]
Timeout exceeded when accessing ‘http://download.opensuse.org/distribution/11.4/repo/oss/repodata/repomd.xml’.

Abort, retry, ignore? [a/r/i] (r):