Running a service on docker

Hello all,

I’m new to SLES and docker so any help/pointers would be greatly appreciated! I’m running SLES 12sp2. I followed the docker guide (https://www.suse.com/documentation/sles-12/book_sles_docker/data/book_sles_docker.html) and got docker installed and my base SLES images activated.

When I run a docker container of image ‘sles12sp1’ I can’t seem to be able to run systemctl start on anything. The error I get is: Failed to get D-Bus connection: Unknown error -1.

Here’s an example for trying to run a brand new container with openssh. What am i missing? Thank you in advance!!

linux-uou1:~ # docker run -ti --rm suse/sles12sp1:latest /bin/bash
bash-4.2# zypper --gpg-auto-import-keys ref -s 
Refreshing service 'container-suseconnect'.
Adding repository 'SLES12-SP1-Debuginfo-Pool for sle-12-x86_64' ...................................................................................................................[done]
Adding repository 'SLES12-SP1-Debuginfo-Updates for sle-12-x86_64' ................................................................................................................[done]
Adding repository 'SLES12-SP1-Pool for sle-12-x86_64' .............................................................................................................................[done]
Adding repository 'SLES12-SP1-Source-Pool for sle-12-x86_64' ......................................................................................................................[done]
Adding repository 'SLES12-SP1-Updates for sle-12-x86_64' ..........................................................................................................................[done]
All services have been refreshed.
Retrieving repository 'SLES12-SP1-Pool for sle-12-x86_64' metadata ................................................................................................................[done]