use two different login scripts?

Hello,

I am pretty new to Suse and linux in general. I have a faculty group and a staff group in LDAP and these point to a login script that is defined in my smb.config. Is there a way to point these two different groups to two different login scripts so there network drives map differently?

Hi gfellerj,

[QUOTE=gfellerj;20417]Hello,

I am pretty new to Suse and linux in general. I have a faculty group and a staff group in LDAP and these point to a login script that is defined in my smb.config. Is there a way to point these two different groups to two different login scripts so there network drives map differently?[/QUOTE]

“man smb.conf” shows me:

[QUOTE]These substitutions are mostly noted in the descriptions below, but there are some general substitutions which apply whenever they might be relevant. These are:

%U
       session username (the username that the client wanted, not necessarily the same as the one they got).

%G
       primary group name of %U.[/QUOTE]

and

[QUOTE] logon script (G)

This parameter specifies the batch file (.bat) or NT command file (.cmd) to be downloaded and run on a machine when a user successfully logs in. The file must contain the DOS style CR/LF line endings. Using a DOS-style
       editor to create the file is recommended.

The script must be a relative path to the [netlogon] service. If the [netlogon] service specifies a path of /usr/local/samba/netlogon, and logon script = STARTUP.BAT, then the file that will be downloaded is:

/usr/local/samba/netlogon/STARTUP.BAT

The contents of the batch file are entirely your choice. A suggested command would be to add NET TIME \\\\SERVER /SET /YES, to force every machine to synchronize clocks with the same time server. Another use would be to
       add NET USE U: \\\\SERVER\\UTILS for commonly used utilities, or

NET USE Q: \\\\SERVER\\ISO9001_QA

for example.