Winbind list directory lag

All,

I have Winbind/Samba/LDAP configured for AD user authentication. I have some files in a directory that no longer have a file owner due to the AD account being deleted. The files owner are set as the UID of that old user account that was deleted. When I perform an " ls -l " on that directory, Winbind goes out to all domain controllers trying to match that UID to a user account in my domain which creates a major lag time when wanting to see a directory listing. I can see this happening by using the tcpdump feature. If I manually change the ownership of the files to a valid user in the domain, an " ls -l " is displayed right away.

I’m new to the Winbind/Samba/LDAP configuration and wondering how this can be resolved. We are currently migrating servers from HP-UX to SLES. HP-UX is using NIS and we do not experience this issue but we feel our current setup with Windbind…etc is a better fit for us at this point in time.

Has anyone run into this? My ending goal would be to have an " ls -l " display right away regardless if it can match a UID to the AD account or not.

Thanks in advance for any advice.

Wild ideas on this one as I’ve never set this up, though I have
encountered the issue of slow ‘ls -l’ output when the names behind UID/GID
values could not be found quickly using other LDAP backends (eDirectory
specifically).

1. Do not delete users ;instead, disable them and maybe put them in a
    container for inactive users. This has a lot of benefits in general since
    it gives you a good record of who has been in the system, allows you to
    keep e-mail and other attributes unique forever, and helps ensure if you
    have somebody return they can have their username back, instead of a new
    one since the old one was taken by some other new user in the meantime.

2. When you delete somebody, create a disabled, local account on the
    server. If nothing else, this should give you the best performance possible.