Xen Performance

Hello All, I would like to learn your ideas about increasing the performance on Xen.
I am no Linux expert yet, but learning a lot.

The setup is a SLES 11 xen host, with a 8 core opteron processor and 32 Gb memory.
But the results are not so great as I hoped.

The network setup are 3 x GB Nics, all bridged and about 10 vm’s running

The companies main program is a Windows based program with database, which performs not as we want it to.
I tried to use the different VMDP drivers, even tried the GPLPV drivers.
Yes I did all the offloads. but to no use.

On file backup, I am getting like 4000 MB/s,
backing up the database from the main program, it is like maximum 3000 MB/s

My questions :
What are the speeds, everyone else is getting with windows VM’s ?

I have not done any cpu pinning
How can I see if that is needed ?

Stephan

Hi Stephan,

while you do seem to include quite a bit of info, there’s more needed to understand your situation:

On file backup, I am getting like 4000 MB/s,

“That’s 32 Gbps - quite a lot for 3x GB NICs.” In other words, I feel that you are talking about disk throughput, or you have your numbers mixed up :wink:

When looking at such performance issues, you have to filter out the “data path”: Where is the data coming from, where is it passing through, where does it go in the end?

Once you have your path elements, look at their utilization - and then try to find out how to influence it.

In the case of your backup:

• is this some network backup of DomU disks? I assume so. Or is it a backup of VM disks to some tape attached to the VM via SCSI?
  • Is only the client system (“main program is a Windows based program with database”) hosted as a VM on this Dom0, or is the backup server hosted there, too?
  • How’s the DomU disk configured (Xen-wise), and what does it look like on the Dom0? Is it SAN storage, NAS, local disk (what type, how accessed)?