Authorized cluster endpoint setup?

Hello All,

I’m relatively new to kubernetes and even newer to rancher, bear with me if I ask any newbie questions and if this has been asked I’d be grateful for a link to the previous discussion.

I’m running a kubeadm-built bare metal cluster on premise that I’ve imported into rancher and would like to replace it with a rancher-built cluster. I’ve built another cluster using rancher, but my users need direct access via kubectl and I’d rather not bottleneck that connection through my single rancher VM. I’ve upgraded to rancher 2.2.2 so Authorized Cluster Endpoint connections are an option, but am drawing a blank on setting up the certificate(s) for direct kubectl access to the cluster. My sense is that this was done by kubeadm on my original cluster, and I’m about to start nosing into Kelsey Hightower’s “Kubernetes the Hard Way” to see if I can pull out those parts. But in the meantime, I thought I’d also ask here.

Is there a document anywhere on setting up Authorized Cluster Endpoint access that starts with checking that “enabled” radio button and ends with kubectl access from a workstation directly to the cluster?

Hope to hear from you,

Randy Rue

1 Like

OK, I’ve done some flailing but am not making much progress.

Followed the steps here and generated a cert and some keys, pasted the cert into the rancher interface, but when I put those into my kubectl config file I get errors that the certificate is valid for the short name of my primary master node but not for the FQDN I put in the rancher interface when I enabled “authorized cluster endpoint.” If I change my config file entry for that cluster entry to the short name, I get “Unable to connect to the server: x509: certificate signed by unknown authority”

I’m not even as far as trying to get a valid user crt/key pair, but would be happy to get as far as a valid server cert.