Cluster Registration Command

Greeting, I am very new to Rancher and very new to kubenetes. I have managed to create a cluster successfully, I learnt about Rancher so then went about installing and running it.

After installation I successfully imported the cluster that I built, I then tried to add monitoring but kept getting and error saying that there was a conflict with a local version of monitor on the cluster. So I went about deleting what I could to resolve the issues. I ended up deleting something that I should not have so I went about importing the cluster again but this time I ran into the following problem, I have no clue how to resolve it.

I use the following command to register my cluster in Rancher.
This runs successfully only on the last line I see an error.
Below is the extract from what I see.

root@masternode:~# curl --insecure -sfL https://192.168.1.100:8443/v3/import/q9xdgttjpgjf4nj77khvwstldxxb5ppjqqcbrjq47mbh9r6xk5z9nk_c-pgv6q.yaml | kubectl apply -f -

The Deployment “cattle-cluster-agent” is invalid: spec.template.spec.containers[0].env[7].name: Required value

All I have read about the error, seems to point to an internal Rancher bug, but I am not certian about this nor how to go about fixing it.

Can any one please help me.
Lawrence

1 Like

Please share versions used and the YAML that is being returned from the curl request.

@superseb
Thank you for responding. I am very sorry but I am very new to this whole environment. I am doing and learning very much without really understanding what it is that I am actually doing.
As I said earlier, I did have this working in Rancher and when trying to find what is conflicting with monitoring, I managed to delete something that broke rancher.
I have now managed to recover this. What I did was use the same Cluster names as the one that I deleted. So right now I am back where I started.