Getting TCSH but expecting BASH

Hi guys,

When I log into my system I get the tc-shell but I should now be getting bash…as that is the default shell defined by my LDAP authentication server (there are no local accounts).

I have a .login and .cshrc for when I used to use tcsh before, and I now have a .profile file for bash.

I’m using SUSE Linux Enterprise 11, how can I get a login to bash? It’s present at /bin/bash and listed in /etc/shells. Do I need to change something on the system itself? I’m an administrator on this machine.

Thanks a lot

Andy

What’s the output of these commands

$ cat /etc/*release* $ grep passwd /etc/nsswitch.conf $ echo $0 $ id $ getent passwd $USER $ grep ^${USER}: /etc/passwd $ file $(which bash)

[QUOTE=mikewillis;15053]What’s the output of these commands

[CODE]$ cat /etc/release

a/arb7> cat /etc/release
LSB_VERSION=“core-2.0-noarch:core-3.2-noarch:core-4.0-noarch:core-2.0-x86_64:core-3.2-x86_64:core-4.0-x86_64”
cat: /etc/lsb-release.d: Is a directory
SUSE Linux Enterprise Desktop 11 (x86_64)
VERSION = 11
PATCHLEVEL = 2
SUSE Linux Enterprise Desktop 11 (x86_64)
VERSION = 11
PATCHLEVEL = 2

$ grep passwd /etc/nsswitch.conf

a/arb7> grep passwd /etc/nsswitch.conf

passwd: files nis

#passwd: compat
passwd: files ldap

$ echo $0

a/arb7> echo $0
-tcsh

$ id

a/arb7> id
uid=4590(arb7) gid=15109(sh_staff) groups=15109(sh_staff),59011(lamp),100017(ram-fs),100018(ram-fs-x),100107(ram-fs-r)

$ getent passwd $USER

a/arb7> getent passwd $USER
arb7:x:4590:15109:Andy Barnes:/home/a/arb7:/bin/tcsh

$ grep ^${USER}: /etc/passwd

[No output produced]

$ file $(which bash)

a/arb7> file $(which bash)
Illegal variable name.

[/CODE][/QUOTE]

Bash is at /bin/bash

This is a result of getent on the LDAP server:

arb7:x:4590:15109:Andy Barnes:/home/arb7:/bin/bash

Thanks for your help,

Andy

Most curious.