HA for master nodes

hi, i am very new to rancher and kubernetes. I want to create HA of multiple master nodes using rancher GUI?
please, let me know the procedure.

thanks

HA install for Rancher is documented at https://rancher.com/docs/rancher/v2.x/en/installation/ha/, creating production ready clusters within Rancher is documented at https://rancher.com/docs/rancher/v2.x/en/cluster-provisioning/production/

just want to confirm that whether Layer 4 load balancer(tcp) works perfectly fine on VM machines? I read somewhere it won’t supports. only layer 7 loadbalancer supports this.

Create your cluster using RKE, andin your cluster.yaml declare three nodes that are control plane. Its that easy.

Ex:

nodes:

##then declare al your worker nodes

An L4 load balancer definitely works and is recommended. We deploy to AWS and use an NLB.

hello yeti,
thanks for immediate reply.
As of now I have created 2 master nodes and 1 worker node.
now i have to test certain cases like :

1. if my first master node gets down, then whether the second master node is able to take entire load? moreover, i need to confirm is it ok to test this with 2 master node or it requires 3 master nodes ?

Please read the documentation linked, in https://rancher.com/docs/rancher/v2.x/en/cluster-provisioning/production/#count-of-etcd-nodes it clearly states 2 etcd nodes does not give you fault tolerance.

@ [kamlesh] It is generally good practice to always use an odd number of masters, as the control-plane nodes perform leader elections.

Leader election is the mechanism that guarantees that only one instance of the kube-scheduler — or one instance of the kube-controller-manager — is actively making decisions, while all the other instances are inactive, but ready to take leadership if something happens to the active one.

1 Like

THANK YOU !!!
I thought so but all the K8s docs say you only need two Masters… Do you have any reference to validate that the Masters perform leader election?
Jim