How do I add an online_update icon to YaST

OK so first off, I’m really new to Linux. My *UX background is HP-UX (for quite a few years) and I must say I’m surprised that SLES is so different from the Unix that I’m used to.
I’ve just installed a 60 day evaluation of SLES 11 SP2 that I want to run as a Xen server and have just (successfully) run Online Update for the first time.

I stumbled at an early hurdle in that the documentation said to run it from YaST, however it was nowhere to be seen in YaST(2). In the end I ran ‘yast2 online_update’ from the command line and that worked a treat.

My question (hopefully an easy one) is: how do I add an ‘Online Update’ icon to the ‘Software’ section of yast2?

Many thanks,

Gary

[QUOTE=dn312sr;12537]OK so first off, I’m really new to Linux. My *UX background is HP-UX (for quite a few years) and I must say I’m surprised that SLES is so different from the Unix that I’m used to.
I’ve just installed a 60 day evaluation of SLES 11 SP2 that I want to run as a Xen server and have just (successfully) run Online Update for the first time.

I stumbled at an early hurdle in that the documentation said to run it from YaST, however it was nowhere to be seen in YaST(2). In the end I ran ‘yast2 online_update’ from the command line and that worked a treat.

My question (hopefully an easy one) is: how do I add an ‘Online Update’ icon to the ‘Software’ section of yast2?

Many thanks,

Gary[/QUOTE]
Hi and welcome to the forum :slight_smile:

Do you mean the one circled in the image?
http://paste.opensuse.org/39487852

If so, this is yast2-update but if you use to the command line, then there is also the ‘zypper’ command to perform package install, update etc.

Hi Malcolm,

Thanks for your response.

Yes, I do mean the icon that you circled, however I’m not familiar with zypper.

Cheers,

Gary

Hi
So you can install that via the sofetware management and should
appear :wink: