Is there any workaround to convert a cluster to not use an rke template

While trying features, I created and applied an rke template by mistake. (I expected to create a template from the cluster, without “linking” to it.)

Is there any workaround to undo this? Restoring a snapshot does not undo. By the way, it would be interesting to know what is not included when restoring a snapshot. I hope this is the only exception.

feature request: https://github.com/rancher/rancher/issues/26261

Snapshots are of the etcd for the cluster and backup what is “inside” of it. The definition of the cluster itself and other global resources are not part of that; they would be in a backup of the management cluster (or docker container for the single container install).

So a workaround is to restore a backup as written in https://rancher.com/docs/rancher/v2.x/en/backups/?


My understanding was that the cluster was in the snapshot as well, because of the text

When Rancher creates a snapshot, it includes three components

  • The cluster configuration in the form of the cluster.yml

from https://rancher.com/docs/rancher/v2.x/en/cluster-admin/backing-up-etcd/ , and
because I can select what to restore: etcd only, etcd and Kubernetes version, or etcd, Kubernetes version and cluster configuration