.iso persisting

I am new to rancheros - and I am having trouble persisting the state when booting from ISO.
I am using a VMware infrastructure with the CD pointed to the .iso file (for v0.7.0), and I have set up an empty sda1 disk that is formatted as ext4 and labelled with RANCHER_STATE.

Any changes that I make with the .iso booted do not seem to persist, and I see no evidence in the logs or on the system that it ever mounted the persistent sda1 device.

My superficial initial look at the code that mounts the device (in init.go) - suggests that the rancher.state.dev is “”. This variable seems to be normally passed as a linux command line parameter and this is not being done for an ISO boot.

Is this something I am doing wrong, or has persistent state booted from an ISO been deprecated?

rancher.state.dev isn’t set by default in the ISO anymore. You’d just need to set it as an additional kernel parameter.

Do I have to remaster the .iso to do this? Or is there a way to modify the iso with some external tool?

I fixed the .iso so it had the following commandline:
Nov 5 21:41:23 rancher kernel: [ 0.000000] Kernel command line: BOOT_IMAGE=/boot/vmlinuz quiet rancher.state.dev=“LABEL=RANCHER_STATE” rancher.autologin=tty1 rancher.autologin=ttyS0 initrd=/boot/initrd

and rebooted. I created a partition on sda1 with the label RANCHER_STATE, and it still does not seem to be mounted at boot time. I don’t see any kernel log messages for the mount, and I was able to mount it manually (which normally means it wasn’t already mounted)

What would be the easiest way to debug this, and do I have to set any other parameters?

I think the quotes here are the issue rancher.state.dev="LABEL=RANCHER_STATE". Can you try removing these and trying again?

Have you considered doing a standard install? I’m curious why you’re choosing to persist the ISO rather than just installing in this case.

ok - i will give it a try.