OpenEBS on BareMetal with Rancher 2.2.8 or 2.3.0

Hello Gentlemen,
I am searching for some help to get OpenEBS set up on my Rancher Cluster. My goal is to get automatic provisioning with the OpenEBS Dynamic Local PV provisioner with hostpath running.

My setup is a single node cluster on a root server from Netcup. I use a single node Rancher Server installation on the same server with non-default ports mapped for http/https.

In my tries, the Kubernetes clusters which I am trying to install OpenEBS on were freshly provisioned with the respective Rancher Server version of my installation.

First try with Rancher 2.3.0:

• Here installation of OpenEBS with default configuration options already failed. As 2.2.8 is currently mentioned as stable and I am a newbie regarding Kubernetes and Rancher I switched to 2.28 because of this.

Second try with Rancher 2.2.8

• Installation of OpenEBS seems to work. The pods are all up and running according to the description on the OpenEBS website. And the default storage classes for openebs were also installed.

I now have tried two things:

1. Enable Grafana/Promotheus Monitoring on my Rancher cluster by “Enable Persistent Storage for Grafana/Promotheus” using “openebs-hostpath” the pods simply do not come up and I cannot see any output in the logs. I can see the relevant pvc’s but the pv’s are not created.

2. In order to debug the stuff I followed the example from the openebs website
    https://docs.openebs.io/docs/next/uglocalpv.html
    and used the chart on this page to spin up a percona database with the “openebs-hostpath” storage class. The pod is also not coming up. When using

kc describe pod percona-5f878cbbd5-c4dnj

I get the output attached below. One further note, I am using RancherOS as operating system and before installing things I activated iscsi according to the description on the openebs page:

sudo ros s enable open-iscsi
sudo ros s up open-iscsi