SSL Termination with LoadBalancer

Hey guys. I am pretty new to Rancher but I put all my time of the last 3 days into it.

Let’s get to the point:

I want to make use of the LoadBalancer.
Before (or: by now) I used an NGINX Reverse Proxy to deliver the containers to the public web.
I also used a letsencrypt system to cert my domains.
But that is not a LoadBalancer so I want to switch to Rancher delivering the containers to the web.

The Issue:

When I use the Rancher LoadBalancer it allows me to select a certificate from the list of uploaded certificates. But that makes things really complicated when you are using LetsEncrypt.

Example: You have the domain foobar.foo . Now you want to add a certificate with LetsEncrypt. First you’d need to run a letsencrypt container on that domain manually, retrieve the certificates, download them, then upload them and then setup the foobar.foo site with the LoadBalancer with SSL.

That seems awkwardly wrong. Am I doing something wrong or is my mind stuck?

Best
David

Have you looked at the service in the catalog “Let’s Encrypt Certificate Manager?” You can navigate to it by using a url like https://your-rancher-server-domain/env/yourenvid/catalog/community:letsencrypt . This is doing something similar to what you describe but all in that container and using Rancher’s APIs to update the certificate in its store. Using the Rancher API to do so should ensure the certificate is available to the load balancer. Now, if you renew the certificate, and you already have a loadbalancer set up that references the certificate, it should have its certificate updated automatically. I might be wrong about that last part, but I could swear I’ve had it work that way before.

Hope this helps!

Thank you for the response Brandon.

I did take a look at that Manager, yes. But there is no documentation on this other than what is given on GitHub.