Yast Not Working

Hello Folks - I am new to Suse.

I did a lot of research but I didn’t find any response. Can someone point me in the right direction when I ran Yast from the GUI is not doing anything. I just did a clean installation but it’s not working, please I need your help dear friends, I am spending a lot of time to get it worked. Please Help!!!
I am using SL 11 Desktop, 64bit installed on PowerEdge T710.

Cheers!!!
Jdn

[QUOTE=andiawa1;26142]Hello Folks - I am new to Suse.
[/QUOTE]
Welcome to SUSE!

The first thing we need to do is establish exactly what it is you are using. There are two currently supported versions of SUSE Linux Enterprise Desktop (the subject of this forum) and there’s also openSUSE which people sometimes mistakenly post here about. Can you post the output of

$ cat /etc/*release*

When you say the “ran Yast from the GUI is not doing anything” do you mean you click the YaST icon somewhere but nothing happens?

What happens if you run

$ yast2

Hi Mikewillis,
Here is the result of cat command:
SUSE Linux Enterprise Desktop 11 (x86_64)
VERSION = 11
PATCHLEVEL = 3
VERSION = 11
PATCHLEVEL = 3

And I ran Yast from the computer menu and click directly Yast, enter root cred and voila, not working. But when I ran from the command line as you said, it worked pretty good, I am stupid, lol.Thanks

[QUOTE=andiawa1;26144]SUSE Linux Enterprise Desktop 11 (x86_64)
VERSION = 11
PATCHLEVEL = 3
VERSION = 11
PATCHLEVEL = 3
[/QUOTE]
Excellent you’re in the correct forum and it’s a currently supported version.

[QUOTE=andiawa1;26144]
And I ran Yast from the computer menu and click directly Yast, enter root cred and voila, not working. But when I ran from the command line as you said, it worked pretty good, I am stupid, lol.Thanks[/QUOTE]
Not stupid at all, it should work when run from the Computer menu.

Have you installed all outstanding updates? If you run

$ uname -a