Cannot active first cluster in Rancher 2.0

Hello.

Disclaimer: I am extremely new to kubernetes, containers, docker, etc. just consider me an uber-noob.

I’m looking at Rancher since it seems pretty beginner friendly and super easy to manage and so I’m trying to setup my first cluster to get an idea of what all I can do with it, but I keep running into the same problem and No matter how much I search for solutions, I haven’t seen anyone with the same issue, always a different issue.

So here’s what I did. I have a fresh VM setup with Linux Ubuntu 16.04.

I installed Docker version 17.03.2 following their documentation strictly as shown here https://docs.docker.com/install/linux/docker-ce/ubuntu/#prerequisites

Then I went through the quickstart documentation for Rancher 2.0 to create a custom cluster.

So in order:
I installed rancher using sudo docker run -d --restart=unless-stopped -p 80:80 -p 443:443 rancher/server:preview

I logged into rancher using a web browser and admin/admin
I reset the password when prompted
I kept the URL the same IP address as not to mess with it.
I clicked Add Cluster
I clicked Custom Cluster and gave it a simple name.
I left all options at defaults
On Node Roles I made sure all 3 boxes were checked.
I copied the command that was auto generated to my clipboard.
I ran that command on my linux host and ran it.
When it was finished I clicked Done back on the web browser.

At this time, the cluster went into a provisioning state and ran through several processes but eventually it stops and gives me this message.

Failed to get kubernetes node [OPO-VM-DOCK01]: “OPO-VM-DOCK01” not found

OPO-VM-DOCK01 is the name of my VM btw.

If I let it sit there in the provisioning state, it will periodically attempt to activate again but always gets stuck at the same spot.