Converting SLES VMs from VMWare to Hyper-V

Hello,
I have a site in the process of converting from a VMWare 5.5 environment to a Microsoft 2012 R2 Hyper-V environment. We are using Microsoft Virtual Machine Converter 3.1 to handle the conversion. We have both SLES 11 SP3/SP4 VMs and SLES 12 VMs to convert.

For the SLES 11 VMs, as long as I add “hv_storvsc” to the INITRD_MODULES in /etc/sysconfig/kernel BEFORE the migration, it works perfectly.

For the SLES 12 though, I’ve been struggling. After the conversion, the VMs won’t boot because they cannot find the disks. In SLES 12 the disks are all mounted by-uuid. I tried adding the hv_vss_daemon, hv_fcopy_daemon, and hv_kvp_daemon to the VM before the conversion, but that made no difference. I’m not sure what the best way to rectify this would be. Has anyone done this and can you provide any pointers? Thanks.

Matt

Hi Matt,

while I have no experience with Hyper-V, your description sounds as if not knowing the disks’ UUIDs prior to migration is the root issue. If that’s true, you might just convert to mounting by label prior to conversion.

On the other hand, I’m surprised that the UUID of the file system changed - can you check via maintenance login (after migration) that the system can actually access the virtual disks and is really just looking for the wrong device?

Regards,
J.

Well after many trials and tribulations, I finally figured out a procedure to prep the SLES 12 VMs before the migration. Here is what I’ve found that works:

1. Install the Hyper-V support modules: zypper in hyper-v

2. Enable the Hyper-V support modules:

systemctl enable hv_vss_daemon.service
systemctl enable hv_fcopy_daemon.service
systemctl enable hv_kvp_daemon.service

1. Edit /etc/dracut.conf and change the add_drivers line to this:

add_drivers+=“hv_vmbus hv_netvsc hv_storvsc”

1. Run the following command to rebuild initramfs:

dracut -f -v