Home privately used lab environment - Overkill hardware but

Background info on myself and the environment which drives this thread.
I am a contractor working in Cloud Computing with mainly Microsoft based technology. I have always ran some form of SuSE linux (starting with 7.x 32bit) for my home needs where I have virtualized or used WINE to cover my Windows needs. My home lab has been where I have been able to explore and expand my IT skills. Now all these years later, I have a son (starting college) who is following in my foot steps, I find myself rebuilding my lab environment to meet todays Enterprise needs.

The physical hardware at our home includes the following
Main Household Infra
2 Dell R710 2U (XEN)
dual proc quad core 2.4Ghz
16Gb RAM
3 SAS 15k 300GB drives
1 SAS 800GB SSD
4 1G ethernet
2 10Gb SFP network
1 Dell R610 1U (firewall/Router)
dual proc quad core 2.2Ghz
16Gb RAM
2 SAS 10k 300GB drives
4 1G ethernet
1 Dell T610 5U (storage)
single proc quad core 2.2Ghz
12Gb RAM
2 SATA 250GB os drives
4 SATA 2TB data drives
2 1G ethernet
2 10GB SFP network
1 Layer 3 Netgear 48port 1G with 4 SFP

My sons setup in his room
1 Dell R300 1U (firewall)
single proc dual core 2.4Ghz
8GB RAM
2 SATA 250GB drives
2 1G ethernet
1 MicroSystem 5U (XEN and Storage)
dual proc dual core 1.8Ghz
32Gb RAM
8 SATA 2TB drives
2 1G ethernet
1 Layer 3 Cisco 48port 1G with 4 SFP

1G Fiber between Household and Son’s switches

The VM network services include
LDAP (I had this working back in SLES 10 days, but never could set it up since. Need to figure this out again)
DNS
DHCP
PXE
NFS
Proxy
Nagios
Plex Media Server (this is the performance taxing vm)

I plan for my son’s environment to be a bit more volatile as he goes thru the learning process, breaking things and rebuilding. Thus this thread is about getting my environment setup and reliable for him to see as an example as well as make use of when his is down.