Host not recognized in dashboard

Hello! I’m a total newbie to Rancher, I’m setting up my first VPS on DigitalOcean and decided to give Rancher a try after I came across some tutorials. My problem is that I’m attempting to install everything on one server (or ‘droplet’) because this is just a collection of hobby projects at this point, which looks like it should work, but I started by following a tutorial that was using the built-in DO api for creating hosts (the tutorial is geared more toward a multi-server deployment, which makes sense but just doesn’t fit my use case.) It was very easy to get up and running that way but I ended up accidentally creating a separate host machine/droplet, which I then deleted. The host had been accessible from my Rancher dashboard, and although I still have the Rancher server installed on my Linux box and can access the control panel, it’s giving me the ‘You must create a Linux host before adding services’ message. I’ve tried creating a new Custom host several times, but it never shows up in my dashboard. It looks like Rancher is up and running in my Linux box just fine, but I’m wondering if somehow I hosed up my Rancher instance by launching the first host through DO and then deleting it - I’m hoping I don’t have to delete it and start over, is there another way?

Thanks!

I finally decided to dump the server and reinstall, and was able to add a new server instance and host on the same droplet after that. However, I had also set up the ufw firewall per a Digital Ocean tutorial and had http blocked, I turned it on before launching the new server so that may have also been what fixed it.