New to Suse - Chrome/Chromium

Hello - I am new to Suse from Debian/Ubuntu.

Can someone point me in the right direction when I am attempting to install Chrome (downloaded from google)?

I am evaluating SLED 12 in a VM before purchasing and installing on a new laptop.

This is what I am getting:

sudo rpm -Uvh google-chrome-stable_current_x86_64.rpm root's password: warning: google-chrome-stable_current_x86_64.rpm: Header V4 DSA/SHA1 Signature, key ID 7fac5991: NOKEY error: Failed dependencies: lsb >= 4.0 is needed by google-chrome-stable-39.0.2171.71-1.x86_64

Looking up LSB this is what I found:

[CODE]matt@linux-rld8:~/Downloads> zypper if lsb-release
Loading repository data…
Reading installed packages…

Information for package lsb-release:

Repository: SLED12-Pool
Name: lsb-release
Version: 2.0-23.13
Arch: noarch
Vendor: SUSE LLC https://www.suse.com/
Installed: Yes
Installed Size: 16.2 KiB
Summary: Linux Standard Base Release Tools[/CODE]

I ran the install just find in openSUSE 13 and when I looked at lsb-release it looked like a similar version number (at least in 2.x-xx.xx). I double clicked the rpm and it started downloading dependencies. I don’t get that behaviour in SLED 12.

I am also wondering about backports in SLED 12. I can find information on openSUSE, but much less for SLED. Where do I need to look?

I do occasionally need a new feature in postgres, haproxy, etc., thus this is a bit of a concern for me. I have tried a number of things but with no luck.

Thanks for pointing me in the right direction!

Matt

Hi Matt,

I haven’t tried this myself on SLE12… it should be the quickest/easiest ticket to getting Chromium installed and also keep it updated in a convenient way: http://software.opensuse.org/package/chromium