Next Steps --- RancherOS

Greetings All,

Hope that your day is going well.

I am a bit of a newbie to RancherOS and Kubernetes and am working with 3 physical servers that I wish to get set up so that I can deploy some docker containers and possibly migrate them around as needed.

I have just set up my first server with RancherOS and would like to ask if someone could guide me on the next step so that I can install what ever is needed to be able to have the web-based Kubernetes Dashboard like in the video on the Rancher.com site.

Also, do I need to put RancherOS on all of the physical servers so that the Kubernetes dashboard will be able to see them?

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks and have a great day,
Lonnie

RancherOS is a baseline OS for Docker use.

Rancher Server is the web dashboard. This doesn’t require you to use RancherOS for your nodes, though RancherOS is designed for it. You only need to run rancher-agent on your nodes to be able to use them as hosts in the Rancher Server.

There are some gotchas around Docker versions and Kubernetes, however, so I’d check compatibility on that before jumping in with RancherOS as I think it uses pretty new versions of Docker.

Thanks for getting back to me and for the useful information.

Basically, I am starting with 3 empty servers and have put RancherOS on one of them thus far.

I am trying to locate the documentation to install the Rancher Server, based upon your information, so that I can get it installed on the first one and then figure out how to get the remaining machines setup to receive container deployed to them.