Hello,

I am really new in Linux, and I got a system with SUSE Linux Enterprise Desktop 11 SP2.
I tried to install Skype using different recommendations. Always I got the message that the installation was finished (no error) but when I click on the skype icon it doesn’t make anything - don’t open, don’t give any error.
Can someone help me with this issue?

thanks

Hi
You need to open a terminal and run the command to see what errors it’s
producing.

Cheers Malcolm °¿° (Linux Counter #276890)
openSUSE 12.2 (x86_64) Kernel 3.4.11-2.16-desktop
up 2 days 18:58, 6 users, load average: 0.01, 0.03, 0.05
CPU Intel® i5 CPU M520@2.40GHz | GPU Intel® Ironlake Mobile

Exactly what have you installed?

If you run Skype from command line

$ skype

is there any output?

I haven’t updated Skype from version 4.0. Last time I looked at 4.1 I came to the conclusion that there isn’t a version of 4.1 that works with SLED 11 SP2. I have the 4.0 static build, but even that doesn’t work without a little hassle because Skype messed up the build. Also it’s only available as a 32bit build so you may need to install extra packages to get it working on 64bit machines. I can tell you how exactly how to get it Skype 4.0 running (it is still on their download server, you just have to know the exact url), if you can tell me whether you’re using 32bit or 64bit. If you’re not sure post the output of

$ uname -a

Actually, come to think of it, it’s not harder enough for 64bit for it to be worth worry about whether you’re using 64bit or not.

If you are using 64bit then install the package libtiff3-32bit. You can do that from, amongst other places, ‘Install Remove/Software’ in the Computer menu.

After than open a command prompt and run these commands: