[Solved] Connect multiple domains to workload pods

I’m a developer picking up Rancher and learning the ropes. I am new to this so if this is considered an anti-pattern or the wrong approach please let me know! I have been struggling with this for a couple of days and really could use any help.

1. I own two domains from Name-cheap.
  2. Both DNS’s are pointing to Cloud-front.
  3. Cloud-front is pointing to my Digital Ocean Server IP. (Where Rancher lives)
  4. I create two workloads in Rancher. Each being a separate Nginx server.

The workloads give my server ip + a random port so I can access the webpage.
i.e http://xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx:31099/ and http://xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx:23466/

How can I point my domains to their respective Workload pod?

Example
Domain1 --> xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx:31099/
Domain2 --> xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx:23466/

Use an ingress - aka Load Balancer.

I’ve added the load balancer to my cluster but i haven’t been successful connecting the host name to the workload pod. If I go to my domain it will take me to my server IP which ends up trying to login to my Rancher server instead of loading my workload pod.

I’m trying to run a plain Nginx server. I have the option to forward ports in my workload however I have 4 different options of how I want to forward it. Do you know what settings I should set? In the load balancer I have another option to forward my port.

I apologize for all the questions. The documentation for 2.0 goes into detail of how things works instead of instructions of what things do.

Thanks @etlweather

Thank you for responding! I thought I should give an update on how I got it working. I’m not too familiar with Kubernetes so please correct me if im wrong.