SuSE Manager - Open Source, so why pay for it?

I am an administrator in a UK local authority. We are deploying several SLES11 servers on VMware platform. You can imagine that it will be cumbersome to manage them all, so I am looking at centralised management systems, and saw SuSE Manager. I have already deployed Subscription Management Tool for registrations and online update management.

I am not interested in SuSE Manage with the embedded Oracle database, so would use the PostgreSQL database option. So, simple question: As SuSE Manager has a GPL2 license, what are SuSE charging an annual fee for - why can’t I just install and use the software without a server and per-client subscription.

[QUOTE=ashbrook;12057]
I am not interested in SuSE Manage with the embedded Oracle database, so would use the PostgreSQL database option. So, simple question: As SuSE Manager has a GPL2 license, what are SuSE charging an annual fee for - why can’t I just install and use the software without a server and per-client subscription.[/QUOTE]

For all open source SUSE products (like SUSE Linux Enterprise Server, SUSE Manager, etc.), you are not paying a license fee but a subscription fee. The subscription is for maintenance (security fixes, bug fixes, feature updates) and support (you can contact SUSE in case of problems or questions).

The software itself is open source and you’re free to use it as-is. However, without a subscription you will not be able to access and download updates, and you have to rely on self- or community-support in case of problems. So if someone hacks your SUSE Manager instance because you didn’t install the latest security fixes, its your responsibility.

Btw, all changes SUSE did to the upstream project Spacewalk (https://fedorahosted.org/spacewalk) are included in the Spacewalk code.

Hth,

Klaus

Hello Klaus,