suse printer issue please help.

I am new to this and have very little knowlegde using linux / suse

I am trying to configure a printer that is connected to a windows 7 pc using the printer manager GUI on KDE 3.5

The printer works fine when connected to a windows XP pc.

Because of recent upgrades I need the printer (EPSON LX 300+) to work via a windows 7 machine.

I have redirected the printer to this machine via the printer manager console but it does not print.

I have a simple network that operates through a workgroup setup.

Please help !!!

Hi momayet10,

please start with telling us which SLES version you are using.

Regards,
Jens

Hi Jens

Firstly thanks in advance

As I said I am totally new to all this. so i think its Linux version 2.6.16.21
suse linus enterprise server 10
kde 3.5.1

Previously the printer was connected via smb to a XP PC and works fine.

I have searched and found that printing via smb to win7/8 is very troublesome, so I have gone out and purchased a 1 port print server.

I have installed the printer to this and I am able to print a test page via the KDE printer console.
But I cannot print via my APP. The app is sitting on the SUSE box and use ANITA to use my app via windows.

Please let me know what you think .

Your assitance is much appreciated.

Thank you

Hi momayet10,

As I said I am totally new to all this.

no problem with that - we all where starters at some point i time.

[“i think its”] suse linus enterprise server 10

(“cat /etc/SuSE-release” is a good starting point as it names the installed service pack, too.) SLES10 is rather old, but let’s see:

In your opening message, you wrote that the printer (EPSON LX 300+) is connected to a Windows 7 machine so you’d need to print via that Win7 box.
In your last message, you wrote that you have it connected via a 1port print server. So in theory, SLES may be configured to print to the print server, rather than a Win7 queue.