Create partitions plan fails

Hi all,

My apologies in advance for maybe lacking some information. I’m new to SLES and it’s products.

I am testing Suse Cloud 6 on SLES 12 SP1 but I hit a problem.

I have some old hardware: HP DL380 G4 and DL385 G5. First is could not find a local disk to install on so I added the following options to the kernel at boot so it finds the disks:

[FONT=Courier New]cciss.cciss_allow_hpsa=1 hpsa.hpsa_allow_any=1
[/FONT]
After that the installation continues but at some point is says “Create partitions plan…” and I get the following error message:

[FONT=Courier New]Error
device ‘/dev/…/devices/pci0000:00/0000:00:06.1/ata1/host0/target0:0:0/0:0:0:0/block/sr0’ not foudn by storage backend[/FONT]

I’m a bit confused by this error message because in a normal situation sr0 is the cdrom/dvd player. So I tried to disconnect the cable but the error stills happen.

Does somebody knows what’s wrong?

pleasy try to click the “forget” button for the node, after disconnecting the CD-ROM drive.
There is some boot-device detection happening in the discovery phase
and my guess is that this one went wrong and thought, the CD-ROM would be a good place for the root partition
which cannot work.

Already did that a couple of times and that didn’t work.

But your reply did make me think of something else. When the system is boot via PXE for the first time it gets a different image for discovering the system. I saw in Crowbar that there we no disks available. So I had to add cciss.cciss_allow_hpsa=1 hpsa.hpsa_allow_any=1 also to the discover part within the raw provisioner barclamp.

[FONT=Courier New] “discovery”: {
“append”: “cciss.cciss_allow_hpsa=1 hpsa.hpsa_allow_any=1”
},[/FONT]

That did the trick!

Some extra info:

The information that is collected the first time the machine boots with the discover image is used for selecting the disk to install on instead during the installation.