I have a few Problems/Questions

I am new to rancher, and I am currently testing a few things and have a few questions or problems which I simply cannot explain… :neutral_face:

1. Can I define a default namespace for a user in Rancher? That when he opens a shell and enters a kubectl command, the defined namespace is used?

2. I have installed Rancher in K8S. If more than 50% of the masters in my cluster go offline, I can no longer reach Rancher… (HTTP Error 500: Internal Server Error) I know that this has something to do with the etcd database but is it possible to work around this so that at least the website is accessible so that I can still read out some info?

3. Why does rancher create a namespace for each user by default? What is the point of this, and can I work around it? Because I don’t want to have 10000000 namespaces one day which are not used at all…

4. If I have a kubectl shell open, then it disconnects after a certain period of time? Is it possible to bypass this or make it last longer, and why is this the case?

1. No clue on defaults, but the user can use a command like kubectl config set-context --current --namespace=my-namespace to make all commands happen after it assume a namespace other than default.
  2. Etcd won’t function if you don’t have quorum, so you need >50% of the total expected etcd nodes up for etcd to work. If you use k3s with an external database taking the place of etcd you’d have a single point of failure for that external database but you could lose however many control plane nodes at that point, so it’s really just passing the buck but technically it’d do what you asked. Alternately you could go from 3 control plane nodes to 5 if you wanted to be able to lose 2 and still function (I’m not sure what the functional max would be, but keep in mind that too many control plane nodes would end up spending more time keeping each other in sync rather than run things).