Service Crashing Docker, Cannot Start

Day 1 Newbie here, go easy.

I know I’m Doing It Wrong™, because I don’t know the right way. Trying to get a grasp on The Right Way™ by playing around.

This service starts perfectly as a run command when I’m in the command-line after boot. So I tried to make it a service.yml file and start it on boot. Unfortunately, it crashes the docker daemon, console never starts, and I have to reimage it (on a Raspberry Pi).

If I use ros service enable path/file and then ros service start name nothing happens. I presume because something is bad.

I have created a service as follows (indentation is correct).

[rancher@rancher ~]$ cat /var/lib/rancher/conf/autossh.yml autossh: image: jnovack/rancher-autossh restart: never net: "host" privileged: true volumes: - /mnt/id_rsa:/id_rsa environment: - SSH_HOSTUSER=username - SSH_HOSTNAME=hostname

If you can give me some insight on what’s wrong here, and the better way to do it, I would appreciate any help.

Just to confirm. this is using RancherOS and not Rancher? Just want to put it in the right category.

Can you add in 3 backticks in front and back of your yaml file so I could see the indentation?

Can you list your exact commands and also run a sudo ros service list after you enable it?

After enabling it, you just need to run sudo ros service up -d <name> to start the service.

Denise,

Yes, RancherOS image that was created for the Raspberry Pi.

The problem was solved (worked-around?) by setting the following labels.

I didn’t really want it to start in the System-Docker, but it does work as expected now. Not sure it’s the right way, and it doesn’t solve any containers I want to start in the User-Docker automatically.

labels:
    - io.rancher.os.after=network
    - io.rancher.os.scope=system
[rancher@rancher ~]$ sudo ros service list
disabled amazon-ecs-agent
disabled kernel-headers
disabled kernel-headers-system-docker
disabled open-vm-tools
enabled  /var/lib/rancher/conf/autossh.yml