How to Patch/Update Kernel Version SUSE 11 SP3

I am a beginner on installing SUSE. I have installed SUSE 11 SP3 x86_64 for SAP Applications on a new VM (DB98) and we have an existing VM (DB01) with suse installed in it.

I always get an error registering the product on YaST2 Novell Customer Center Configuration. ERROR: Failure when receiving data from the peer: (56). Even executing the command suse_register -L /root/.suse_register.log, I get the same error.

Now I checked the kernel version of both VMs using the command rpm -qa | grep kernel and the results were different:

DB98 (NEW):

kernel-default-base-3.0.76-0.11.1
kernel-default-3.0.76-0.11.1
kernel-firmware-20110923-0.42.49

DB01 (EXISTING):
kernel-default-base-3.0.101-0.31.1
kernel-source-3.0.101-0.15.1
kernel-firmware-20110923-0.48.1
kernel-source-3.0.101-0.31.1
linux-kernel-headers-2.6.32-1.15.1
kernel-default-3.0.101-0.31.1
kernel-default-devel-3.0.101-0.31.1

Does anybody know how do I update/patch DB98 so that it will have the same kernel versions with DB01? I am having a hard time searching on the web on how to patch and where to get the media to be used.

Same with running the command rpm -qa, package versions for DB01 are more updated while DC98’s are not. Do I have to manually update each packages? I have around 300 outdated packages.

Please advise anyone. I would greatly appreciate any help.

Thanks,
AJ

Hi AJ,

SUSE has moved to SCC instead of NCC - have you activated your registration key in SCC (https://scc.suse.com) before running the registration in the server?

Regards,
J.

[QUOTE=jmozdzen;32659]Hi AJ,

SUSE has moved to SCC instead of NCC - have you activated your registration key in SCC (https://scc.suse.com) before running the registration in the server?

Regards,
J.[/QUOTE]

Hi J,

Thanks for the info. I just tried https://scc.suse.com now and this is what I see:
Please Click Here for Screenshot