SLES 12 GUI

I have a new installation of SLES 12. Regardless of settings, the only GUI that will display is one that shows the minimal options of Internet…System…Utilities…Settings…Logout when retrieving the menu from the lower left. Each of these items contains about two options.

I’ve tried setting default_wm in /etc/sysconfig to both Gnome and KDE, but neither will display. What other settings should I change?

Hi ekappes,

[QUOTE=ekappes;26410]I have a new installation of SLES 12. Regardless of settings, the only GUI that will display is one that shows the minimal options of Internet…System…Utilities…Settings…Logout when retrieving the menu from the lower left. Each of these items contains about two options.

I’ve tried setting default_wm in /etc/sysconfig to both Gnome and KDE, but neither will display. What other settings should I change?[/QUOTE]

from what I’ve read (I have no hands-on experience with SLES12 yet), there’s no KDE in SLES12 no more.

Regards,
Jens

That’s right, there is no KDE in SLE 12.

[QUOTE=ekappes;26410]I have a new installation of SLES 12. Regardless of settings, the only GUI that will display is one that shows the minimal options of Internet…System…Utilities…Settings…Logout when retrieving the menu from the lower left. Each of these items contains about two options.

I’ve tried setting default_wm in /etc/sysconfig to both Gnome and KDE, but neither will display. What other settings should I change?[/QUOTE]
What you descibe could be ether IceWM or the default which is called the SLE-Classic variant of GNOME 3. If you open a terminal window and run

$ echo $DESKTOP_SESSION

that should return the relevant info.